Angel Wing on My Goose

This isn’t a normal post you would see on my blog, but I know this will help someone.

There is a medical issue that sometimes happens in waterfowl. It is called Angel Wing or Twisted Wing. It is when the flight feathers on the wings grow rapidly and do not lay correctly under the wing, causing the wing the bow out and twist. Though this is not painful, it does deem the duck or goose flightless. It usually starts to develop around 4 weeks old.

In April of this year, I became an adoptive parent to an orphaned gosling who developed an angel wing. I knew of this condition before she showed signs of it, so as soon as I noticed it I went on a hunt to try to find info on how to help her and correct the situation. I found nothing other than explanation of why it may have happened. The only corrective story I found out there was one about a hawk or owl that was found with this issue as an adult.

This is my story of a successful repair of an angel wing. I hope that this will help others. If it does, please come back and comment and let me know.As I mentioned, in April of 2011 I was given an orphaned gosling that had been kicked out of the nest and left for dead.

Not knowing if she would even survive, I got a Ziploc bag full of food from a friend who raises ducks. In hindsite, this food had growth hormones in it which is one theory on why waterfowl develop angel wing’s. Regardless, she ate this food for one week and was thriving. I changed her food to Purina Flock Raiser which does not have growth hormones.

Somewhere around 3 or 4 weeks, I noticed that her right wing started to hang a bit. Sometimes I would tuck it into place. Within a week, I realized it was Angel Wing. This is the only pic I have of her wing. Not a very good one, but you can see the right wing falling to the side.

I immediately started researching what to do. Nothing was found other than a book that said to try plucking the feathers. Ouch! Then I found the story about the hawk, where they wrapped the wing in place and allowed it to set.

I tucked the twisted part of the wing under the main part of the wing and lightly secured it in place by wrapping it in clear surgical tape. Then I left it for a little over a week. At that point, the tape had lost most of its stickiness so I removed it and checked the wing. I planned to check it and retape it. She spent the day stretching the wing and exercising it. But from that moment on, the wing has been in perfect alignment. There was no need to retape it. She is doing excellent and should be able to use it to fly when she is old enough.

It amazes me that there are no stories out there of ducks or geese successfully being treated for this. I don’t think my goose’s story is an oddity. It seemed like the normal thing to do…stabilizing the wing and allowing it to right itself.

Like I said, I move this helps someone out there.

Signed,

Mama Goose

4 responses to “Angel Wing on My Goose

  • Monica

    Mother Goose, I love your passion for living creatures. One I cannot say I share but admire so greatly. I know your love of creation blesses the Father, truly. Hope your goosey babe has a long and healthy life! I’m sure with mother love like yours, it is certain!

  • cdrum

    glad to find this — I have a goose with angel wing about 3 months old—
    am going to tape her wing and pray it works– thanks for the info

  • Drew M

    I have a goose 7 weeks old with angle wing. We saved him at one day old from a storm drain. The parents never returned. We have been raising him “Derek” ever since. I will give it a try and let you know what happens.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

