WHITE AS SNOW

Snow has fallen at my house since 1 pm at our house today. It is an unusual sight in Northern Georgia, even for early January. There is something magical about snow, even to this New York girl who was born in the middle of snowy Olean, NY in February. As a child, there was something spectacular about the first snowfall. It trumped anything that was on TV or on the dinner table. All eyes peered out the window and became glued to the transformation that was taking place outside. I would watch as the ugliness of the dreary and gloomy winter yard that almost looked “dead” came back to life with the sheer beauty of the pure white snow. It was so intoxicating that every time I watched that first snowfall, I just had to go out and experience it. I wanted to touch it, see it, hear the deafening silence of it as it fell, and even taste it.
At the sight of the first snowflake today, the focus of our household left schoolbooks and became transfixed on the show that God was putting on outside. I giggled to myself as my kids all did what their snow mama did as a little girl also. They immediately went outside and had to touch it and experience it. “Take a picture of it on my head,” Wyatt said.

Snow on my head

 
As quiet fell on my house and noisy play entered the yard, I found myself transfixed on the transformation that was happening outside. What I saw amazed me, not because of the snow, but because of the beautiful picture image God was unveiling in front of me. The snow started gathering on the ugliest parts of the yard first. Within minutes it had covered the dead tree that had fallen in the flood and covered all the other fallen trees in my yard that I think make it look so ugly.
Isn’t that so God? When God enters the life of the fallen, broken and dead, He covers them with pure beauty. What was dead is now alive.
 
“And you were dead in your trespasses and sins in which you previously walked…But God, who is abundant in mercy, because of His great love that He had for us, made us alive with the Messiah even though we were dead in our trespasses.” Ephesians 2:1,4-5
  
“Though your sins are like scarlet, they will be white as snow.” Isaiah 1:18
 
“…wash me and I will be whiter than snow.” Psalms 51:7
 
So the snow is not as plentiful as I had hoped. If they close schools tomorrow, it won’t be for the quantity of snow. There is only a trace in my backyard. But the beauty of the snow has my eyes transfixed. It is covering what is dead and has brought my backyard back to life! 

Snow In The Backyard

 
One response to “WHITE AS SNOW

  • Monica

    I’ve been so cranky about the fact that it is cold enough for snow, that I never even bothered to make note of how pretty it is. I still hate the cold stuff, but I can appreciate the word here. Thanks!

    Oh, and I love how simple your page is. Very classy.

Leave a Reply

