It’s a Little Linky to Say the Least

It is December 31st, 2010!  Today is my year in review and I want to share a few changes and accomplishments in my life that I feel are significant…so bare with me!

Today I finished the last book of Revelation with the help of The Chronological One Year Bible in the NTL. I loved it. Now to be truthful, I did not read the entire Bible in one year. I started it in August. But I am thrilled to say that I have read nearly half of it since August. At the end of July, I attended She Speaks, a speakers and writers conference in Charlotte, NC. One of my favorite break out sessions that I attended what called, “Teaching By The Book, by Wendy Pope. Wendy is an incredible woman and speaker who for the past year has led a Bible study of the One Year Bible on her blog. At her session, she encouraged anyone who wants to teach from the Bible to have read it cover to cover at least once, if not continually. Now I have read the Bible all my life, but I could never say that I had read it cover to cover, nor read it in a year. But I was up for the challenge. So as soon as I left the session, I went out to the book table and bought the Bible she recommended and I have not put it down since. I have loved every minute of it and have learned so much from reading it chronologically. I have also enjoyed checking in on her blog and hearing her teach about the passage of scripture I had read that day. She is truly a gifted teacher.

So tomorrow I will be sitting with my coffee and I will open up Genesis to begin the second half of my one year Bible!  Thank you Wendy for your encouragement and prompting!

Three books have also graced my nightstand since August. This is a big, fat, hairy deal because I am NOT a reader for the pure enjoyment of reading. Give me a how-to book and I will read it cover to cover. Give me a book on an animal that may be or has entered our family and I will not be able to put it down. But reading for the pure pleasure of reading?….I would rather poke my eyes out. But something stirred in me, again at She Speaks, to try reading a Christian novel and just see. So I did. I went to the recommended novels on the She Reads table and my eyes immediately went to “Demon: A Memoir” by author Tosca Lee. It looked intriguing and a little spooky. I decided that I should pick another one in case that one stunk and I didn’t want to be defeated and quit the reading for pleasure thing so quickly. As my eyes wandered the table and caught sight of one called “Daisy Chain” by Mary Demuth, a woman came up next to me and went on and on about how wonderful the book was. She seemed to be a lot like me, normal with a tad bit of weird, so I took her advice and bought it.

So here I am on December 31st and what came of those books? I LOVED THEM! I loved them so much that I am over half-way finished with Tosca Lees’s next book “Havah: The Story of Eve” and I am patiently waiting for the 2nd book, “Slow Burn”, in Mary DeMuth’s “The Defiance Texas” trilogy that started with “Daisy Chain” to arrive from Amazon. They are incredible, gifted writers. I am also eagerly anticipating Tosca Lee’s upcoming release of “Iscariot”, the story of Judas.

Today I also read my daily devotion that I receive from Proverbs 31 Ministries entitles “My New Year’s Prayer”, by Wendy Blight. Wendy was my 2nd evaluator at She Speaks that encouraged me to strongly pursue public speaking. Her devotion strongly prompted me to write my own New Year’s prayer.

Maybe, if I am brave enough, I will share it with you tomorrow. 

Signed,

God’s Groovy Girl

5 responses to “It’s a Little Linky to Say the Least

Leave a Reply

